Venues

Theater der Welt 2017 doesn’t only want to use the traditional stages of Thalia and Kampnagel as performance spaces – the plan is to also transform areas of the harbour into stages and establish a creative connecting line between the harbour and the city.

1. Thalia Theater
Alstertor, 20095 Hamburg

Theater der Welt 2017


The original building of the Thalia Theater was built in 1843 across from today’s building. During the Second World War, the building was mostly destroyed; at the end of the 1950s it was restored, and re-opened in December 1960. The Thalia Theater is one of three Hamburg state theaters; it is a theater stage with a solid and famed ensemble. It is located directly next to the Binnenalster; the port is reachable by foot. The repertoire includes approximately 20 productions; there are about nine premieres per season at the Großes Haus at the Alstertor. The season’s themes now reflect a tendency to concentrate more on the “world” and less on personal and psychological issues.


LOCATION MAP

2. Thalia Theater Gaußstraße
Gaußstraße 190, 22765 Hamburg

Theater der Welt 2017


The Gaußstraße is simultaneously a dependence of the Thalia Theater and a city district theater for Hamburg Altona. In the last ten years, it has shifted from being a factory to a creative center with the charm of a New York courtyard.


LOCATION MAP

3. Kampnagel
Jarrestraße 20, 220303 Kampnagel

Theater der Welt 2017


Kampnagel is a former port crane factory with navigable river access. Since 1982, the former factory has been developing into an international stage for performing arts with a European-wide reputation. Kampnagel sees itself as a place where art and life can relate to one another – as a space in which artists and different communities from Hamburg with their issues meet the diverse cultures of invited international artists. Kampnagel is an international avant-garde stage and production venue for theater, dance, art and music theater, a laboratory for developing ideas, a location for controversies and conferences but also a concert hall, music lounge and club.


LOCATION MAP

4. HafenCity, Baakenhöft
Baakenhöft, 20457 Hamburg

Theater der Welt 2017


The Baakenhöft is the northern dock on the tip of the peninsula in the Baakenhafen directly across from the Hafencity University. The Hafenbecken was built at the end of the 19th century and since then it has been leased to various shipping companies. Since 1998, the Baakenhafen has been a part of the Hafencity project. It is simultaneously the only port location close to Hamburg’s center that still embodies past harbor use. This former Africa terminal, with its huge cocoa warehouse, the berth of the MS Stubnitz and the festival center all form the heart of Theater der Welt 2017.


LOCATION MAP

4. HafenCity, Baakenhöft, Kakaospeicher
Baakenhöft, 20457 Hamburg

Theater der Welt 2017


Built in 1869, the 9000m2 warehouse 29 is the last relic of the old port. Originally equipped to store unrefined cocoa, it lost its function in the shift to container shipping. The Kakaospeicher [cocoa warehouse] was repeatedly slated for destruction; most recently to create a visitors’ center for the Olympics. Now it will be transformed for the first time into an impressive stage for Theater der Welt 2017.


LOCATION MAP

4. HafenCity, Baakenhöft, Thalia Zelt
Baakenhöft, 20457 Hamburg

Theater der Welt 2017


Since 2006, the Thalia Zelt has been operating as an additional venue for the Thalia Theater at different locations in Hamburg; most recently, it was at the Baakenhöft with „Die drei Musketiere“ by Peter Jordan and Leonhard Koppelmann in 2015. In addition, the tent has also been travelling with guest performances: at the „Radikal Jung – Das Festival Junger Regisseure“ festival in Munich and „Jung Directors Project“ in the context of the Salzburger Festspiele.


LOCATION MAP

4. HafenCity, Baakenhöft, MS Stubnitz
Baakenhöft. 20457 Hamburg

Theater der Welt 2017


The MS Stubnitz was built in 1964 and belonged to the GDR high seas fishing fleet. On this approximately 80-meter-long cultural ship from Rostock, concerts, parties and other events take place on a regular basis. The floating monument is still seaworthy today and a true mecca for Hamburg’s club and music scene.


LOCATION MAP

4. HafenCity, Baakenhöft, HAVEN - Das Festivalzentrum

Theater der Welt 2017


HAVEN is a high-spirited, fantastic and simultaneously real playfield, a meeting place as an invitation to everyone: artists, the audience, local protagonists and producers, neighbors and guests. As a connector between the venues, people and subjects of the festival and the Baakenhafen, HAVEN is open at different places: from the tiny house to racetrack, from barge to tower, from archive to bar. It’s an opportunity to relax and eat dinner, get exhausted and reflect, get involved and be inspired.


LOCATION MAP

5. HafenCity, Elbphilharmonie
Platz der Deutschen Einheit 1, 20457 Hamburg

Theater der Welt 2017


At the Sandtorhafen, a huge warehouse for the Hamburg port was built in 1875 – the Kaiserspeicher. Cocoa, tobacco and tea were stored here into the 1990s. On its foundation, the new glass building of the recently opened Elbphilharmonie was built, the new Hamburg landmark. With its breathtaking view of the port, it is a perfect cooperation venue for Theater der Welt 2017.


LOCATION MAP

6. HafenCity, Oberhafenquartier
Stockmeyerstraße 41, 20457 Hamburg

Theater der Welt 2017


The Oberhafen lies parallel to the Baakenhafen; its numerous warehouses have primarily served as logistics centers for quite some time. Cultural events and other creative projects have been taking place there for the last ten years; the objective is a step-by-step transformation process of the 6.7-hectare surface with renter involvement. Warehouses 3 and 4 at the Oberhafen, which have unusual dimensions and an interesting industrial history, serve as two additional venues for the festival.


LOCATION MAP

7. Abaton Kino
Allende-Platz 3, 20146 Hamburg



LOCATION MAP

8. HafenCity, designxport
Elbarkaden (Eingang), Hongkongstraße 8, 20457 Hamburg



LOCATION MAP

9. Körber-Stiftung, KörberForum
Kehrwieder 12, 20457 Hamburg



LOCATION MAP

10. Lichthof Theater
Mendelssohnstraße 15, 22761 Hamburg



LOCATION MAP

11. Monsun Theater
Friedensallee 20, 22765 Hamburg



LOCATION MAP

12. St. Pauli Theater
Spielbudenplatz 29 – 30, 20359 Hamburg



LOCATION MAP

13. Hafenmuseum Hamburg
Kopfbau des Schuppens 50 A, Australiastraße, 20457 Hamburg



LOCATION MAP

14. HafenCity, Kühne Logistics University
Großer Grasbrook 17, 20457 Hamburg



LOCATION MAP

15. Museum für Kunst und Gewerbe
Steintorplatz, 20099 Hamburg



LOCATION MAP

16. St. Katharinen
Katharinenkirchhof 1, 20457 Hamburg



LOCATION MAP

Spielorte

Theater der Welt 2017 betrachtet den Hafen als thematischen Ausgangspunkt und Untersuchungsraum. Daher werden wir nicht nur die angestammten Spielstätten des Thalia Theaters und Kampnagel bespielen, sondern zusätzlich Orte im Hafen zur Bühne machen und damit kreative Verbindungslinien zwischen Hafen und Stadt schaffen.

1. Thalia Theater
Alstertor, 20095 Hamburg

Theater der Welt 2017


Das alte Gebäude des Thalia Theaters wurde 1843 gegenüber dem heutigen Bau errichtet. Im zweiten Weltkrieg wurde das Gebäude weitgehend zerstört, Ende der fünfziger Jahre restauriert und im Dezember 1960 wiedereröffnet. Das Thalia Theater ist eines der drei Hamburger Staatstheater, eine Sprechtheaterbühne mit einem festen und viel gerühmten Ensemble. Es liegt direkt neben der Binnenalster mit fußläufiger Verbindung zum Hafen. Das Repertoire umfasst etwa 20 Produktionen, pro Spielzeit gibt es etwa neun Premieren im Großen Haus am Alstertor. Die Spielplanthemen spiegeln die Tendenz wider, sich verstärkt mit der „Welt“ und weniger mit psychologischen Innenwelten zu beschäftigen.


ANFAHRTSPLAN

2. Thalia Theater Gaußstraße
Gaußstraße 190, 22765 Hamburg

Theater der Welt 2017


Die Gaußstraße ist Dependance des Thalia Theaters und Stadtteiltheater von Hamburg Altona gleichermaßen. In den letzten zehn Jahren hat sie sich vom Fabrikgelände in ein Kreativzentrum mit dem Charme eines New Yorker Hinterhofs verwandelt.


ANFAHRTSPLAN

3. Kampnagel
Jarrestraße 20, 220303 Kampnagel

Theater der Welt 2017


Kampnagel ist eine ehemalige Hafenkranfabrik mit schiffbarem Flusszulauf. Die ehemalige Fabrik hat sich seit 1982 zu einer europaweit beachteten internationalen Bühne für darstellende Künste entwickelt. Kampnagel versteht sich als Ort, an dem Kunst und Leben miteinander in Bezug treten – als Raum, an dem Künstler und unterschiedliche Communities aus Hamburg mit ihren Themen auf die diversen Kulturen der eingeladenen internationalen Künstler treffen. Kampnagel ist internationale Avantgarde-Bühne und Produktionshaus für Theater, Tanz, Kunst und Musiktheater, Labor für Ideenentwicklung, Ort für Kontroversen und Tagungen aber auch ein Konzertsaal, Music Lounge und Club.


ANFAHRTSPLAN

4. Baakenhöft
Baakenhöft, 20457 Hamburg

Theater der Welt 2017


Das Baakenhöft ist der nördliche Kai der Landzungenspitze im Baakenhafen gegenüber der Hafencity Universität. Das Hafenbecken wurde Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts erbaut und seitdem an unterschiedliche Reedereien und Schifffahrtsgesellschaften verpachtet. Seit 1998 ist der Baakenhafen Teil des Projekts Hafencity. Es ist gleichzeitig der einzige stadtnahe Hafenort Hamburgs, der noch die alte Nutzung des Hafens verkörpert. Das ehemalige Afrika-Terminal bildet mit seinem riesigen Kakaospeicher, dem Liegeplatz der MS Stubnitz und dem Festivalzentrum das Herzstück von Theater der Welt 2017.


ANFAHRTSPLAN

4. Baakenhöft, Kakaospeicher
Baakenhöft, 20457 Hamburg

Theater der Welt 2017


Erbaut 1969, bildet der 9000m² große Schuppen 29 das letzte Relikt des alten Hafens. Ursprünglich für die Lagerung von losem Rohkakao ausgerüstet, verlor er durch die Umstellung auf Containerschifffahrt seine Funktion. Immer wieder wollte man den Kakaospeicher abreißen, zuletzt, um hier ein Olympia-Besucherzentrum zu errichten. Jetzt wird er für Theater der Welt 2017 erstmals in einen beeindruckenden Bühnenraum verwandelt.


ANFAHRTSPLAN

4. Baakenhöft, Thalia Zelt
Baakenhöft, 20457 Hamburg

Theater der Welt 2017


Seit 2006 ist das Thalia Zelt als temporärer zusätzlicher Spielort des Thalia Theaters an verschiedenen Orten in Hamburg unterwegs, zuletzt 2015 bereits am Baakenhöft mit „Die drei Musketiere“ von Peter Jordan und Leonhard Koppelmann. Zudem war das Zelt bereits mit Gastspielen auf Wanderschaft: beim Festival „Radikal Jung – Das Festival Junger Regisseure“ in München und bei „Jung Directors Project“ im Rahmen der Salzburger Festspiele.


ANFAHRTSPLAN

4. Baakenhöft, MS Stubnitz
Baakenhöft. 20457 Hamburg

Theater der Welt 2017


Die MS Stubnitz wurde 1964 erbaut und war Bestandteil der DDR-Hochsee-Fischfang Flotte. Auf dem circa 80m langen Rostocker Kulturschiff finden regelmäßig Konzerte, Partys und andere Events statt. Das schwimmende Denkmal ist heute immer noch seetüchtig und ein wahres Mecca für die Hamburger Club- und Musikszene.


ANFAHRTSPLAN

4. Baakenhöft, HAVEN - Haven das Festivalzentrum

Theater der Welt 2017


HAVEN ist eine übermütige, phantastische und zugleich reale Spielfläche am Baakenhöft, ein Ort der Begegnung, der wirklich alle einlädt: Künstler, Publikum, lokale Akteure und Produzenten, Nachbarn und Gäste. Als Verbindungsstück zwischen den Spielorten auf dem Baakenhöft (Kakaospeicher, MS Stubnitz und Thalia Zelt), Menschen und Themen des Festivals lädt HAVEN an verschiedenste Orte vom tiny house bis zur Küche, vom Floß bis zum Turm, vom Archiv bis zur Spelunke ein: zum Sich-Entspannen und Dinieren, zum Sich-Verausgaben und Sinnieren und zum Sich-Verwickeln und Inspirieren-lassen.

5. Elbphilharmonie
Platz der Deutschen Einheit 1, 20457 Hamburg

Theater der Welt 2017


Im Sandtorhafen wurde 1875 ein riesengroßes Lagerhaus für den Hamburger Hafen errichtet -  der Kaiserspeicher. Bis in die 90er Jahre wurden hier Kakao, Tabak und Tee gelagert. Auf seinem Sockel erhebt sich nun der gläserne Neubau der frisch eröffneten Elbphilharmonie, dem neuen Wahrzeichen Hamburgs, die mit ihrem atemberaubenden Blick über den Hafen der perfekte Kooperations-Ort für Theater der Welt 2017 ist.


ANFAHRTSPLAN

6. Oberhafenquartier
Stockmeyerstraße 41, 20457 Hamburg

Theater der Welt 2017


Parallel zum Baakenhafen liegt der Oberhafen, dessen zahlreichen Lagerhallen lange Zeit überwiegend zu Logistikzwecken dienten. Schon seit über zehn Jahren finden hier nun auch Kulturveranstaltungen und andere Kreativnutzung statt, die auf einen schrittweisen Transformationsprozess des 6,7 Hektar großen Geländes unter Einbindung der Mieter zielen. Die Hallen 3 und 4 im Oberhafen mit ihren außergewöhnlichen Dimensionen und der industriellen Geschichte bilden zwei weitere reizvolle Spielorte für das Festival.


ANFAHRTSPLAN

7. Abaton Kino
Allende-Platz 3, 20146 Hamburg



ANFAHRTSPLAN

8. designxport
Elbarkaden (Eingang), Hongkongstraße 8, 20457 Hamburg



ANFAHRTSPLAN

9. Körber-Stiftung, KörberForum
Kehrwieder 12, 20457 Hamburg



ANFAHRTSPLAN

10. Lichthof Theater
Mendelssohnstraße 15, 22761 Hamburg



ANFAHRTSPLAN

11. Monsun Theater
Friedensallee 20, 22765 Hamburg



ANFAHRTSPLAN

12. St. Pauli Theater
Spielbudenplatz 29 – 30, 20359 Hamburg



ANFAHRTSPLAN

13. Hafenmuseum Hamburg
Kopfbau des Schuppens 50 A, Australiastraße, 20457 Hamburg



ANFAHRTSPLAN

14. Kühne Logistics University
Großer Grasbrook 17, 20457 Hamburg



ANFAHRTSPLAN

15. Museum für Kunst und Gewerbe
Steintorplatz, 20099 Hamburg



ANFAHRTSPLAN

16. St. Katharinen
Katharinenkirchhof 1, 20457 Hamburg



ANFAHRTSPLAN