Massimo Furlan, Claire de Ribaupierre

European Philosophical Song Contest

Belgium, France, Germany, Italy, Lithuania, Norway, Portugal, Slovenia, Spain, Switzerland, Netherlands / Music Theatre
The Eurovision Song Contest comes to Düsseldorf! Albeit with one important new feature: all the lyrics for the first ever European Philosophical Song Contest have been written by contemporary European intellectuals from ten different countries, stretching from the North Pole to Gibraltar, from Brittany to the coast of Lithuania.

Together with a team from Lausanne’s University of Music director Massimo Furlan and dramaturg Claire de Ribaupierre have composed catchy pop songs using these philosophical texts. The stage show, performed with a live orchestra and singers, offers a vibrant journey through many nations and the whole audience will then vote together to determine the winner! Which vision of Europe wins is your choice. Just not yours alone.

Massimo Furlan, Claire de Ribaupierre:
European Philosophical Song Contest
23.06.21, 20:00 - 22:15

Due to copyright restrictions this video is only available in Europe.
23.06.21, 20:00 - 22:15
Schauspielhaus, Große Bühne
German Premiere
The performance will be followed by the public talk Vision: Europe
24.06.21, 20:00 - 22:15

Livestream available 24.06.21, 20:00 – 22:00. Due to copyright restrictions this video is only available in Europe.
24.06.21, 20:00 - 22:15
Schauspielhaus, Große Bühne
Concept, Director and Stage Designer:
Massimo Furlan
Conecpt, Dramaturgy:
Claire de Ribaupierre
Monika Ballwein (Leitung), Maïc Antoine, Gwénolé Buord, Arno Cuendet, Davide De Vita, Lynn Maring, Dylan Monnard, Bart Plugers, Karin Sever
musical direction:
Steve Grant, Mimmo Pisino
Coordination and musical director:
HEMU – University of Music Lausanne: Laurence Desarzens, Thomas Dobler
Stage and Light Design:
Antoine Friderici
Jérôme Vernez
Costume Design:
Séverine Besson
Movement Coach:
Anne Delahaye
Make up, Wigs:
Julie Monot
Santiago Alba Rico (ES), Philippe Artières (FR), José Bragança de Miranda (PT), Vinciane Despret (BE), Mladen Dolar (SI), Leon Engler (DE), Mondher Kilani (CH), Michela Marzano (IT), Kristupas Sabolius (LT), Ánde Somby (NO), Jean Paul Van Bendegem (BE)
Anna Schudt, Massimo Furlan, Claire de Ribaupierre (Jurypräsidentin) und einer Düsseldofer Jury, Student*innen und Lehrer*innen der Haute École de Musique Vaud Wallis Fribourg: Dominique Hunziker, Davide De Vita (Gesang) Arno Cuendet, Steve Grant, Jocelin Lipp, Matthieu Nuzzo (Musiker*innen)
Production: Numero23Prod, Théâtre Vidy-Lausanne

In cooperation with the jazz and pop music departments of Haute École de Musique Vaud Wallis Fribourg

Coproduction: Theater der Welt 2021 Düsseldorf, Mc93 Bobigny, Maison de la culture de Seine-Saint- Denis, Emilia Romagna Teatro Fondazione, Festival de Otoño, NTGent, Théâtre national d’art dramatique de Lituanie, Rosendal Teater, Théâtre de Liège, Théâtre Mladinsko, Comédie de Genève, Equilibre-Nuithonie, Les 2 Scènes, Scène nationale de Besançon, Teatro Nacional D. Maria II, Teatro Municipal do Porto

With the support of: Ville de Lausanne, Etat de Vaud, Pro Helvetia – Fondation suisse pour la culture, Loterie Romande, Fondation Leenaards, Pro Scientia et Arte, Fondation du Jubilé de la Mobilière Production supported by HYPERLINK LaB E23, the Interreg Program France-Switzerland 2014–2020 with funding support from the ERDF financier

Special support by Trivago.